The Friends of New Zealand Congressional Caucus was established in 2005 to strengthen the economic, political, and social links between the United States and New Zealand.

The United States | New Zealand Council was a catalyst for the group’s formation and maintains close relations with Caucus members.

U.S. Representatives Ellen Tauscher (D-CA) and Jim Kolbe (R-AZ) were the founding leaders of the bilateral caucus.  Today, the group is co-chaired by U.S. Representatives Kevin Brady (R-TX) and Rick Larsen (D-WA).

The Caucus has:

  • Supported the goals of the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) trade negotiations;
  • Participated in the United States | New Zealand Council’s most recent Partnership Forums in New Zealand and the United States;
  • Hosted Capitol Hill briefings on US-NZ issues and networking receptions for government and business leaders;
  • Sponsored New Zealand university students as interns in Congressional offices;
  • Taken part in congressional delegation visits to New Zealand and events hosted by the US | NZ Council and the New Zealand Embassy in Washington, DC; and
  • Served as advisors to the US | NZ Council’s American Friends of Christchurch charitable giving program after the Christchurch earthquake in 2011.

To view a list of members of the Friends of New Zealand Congressional Caucus, click here.